Skip to content

From a host’s view: Daniel’s first pizza experience

August 28, 2009

MaryLee Day is the host mom of Daniel Ishaya of Gombe State, Nigeria. They live in Grundy Center, Iowa, and Daniel attends Grundy Center High School.

It was a rainy dreary day, and I just didn’t feel like cooking after a long day at school. I had been told that most of the students from Nigeria and Tanzania didn’t like pizza, and I knew first hand that my exchange son didn’t like our dairy products, but fatigue won out over my sympathy for his taste buds — I took the family for pizza.

I did, however, order a supreme with thin and crispy crust, knowing that Daniel likes vegetables and that it would have less cheese.

When the pizza arrived at our table Daniel just looked at it. Then, with a confused look on his face, he pointed at a mushroom and asked, “What is that?”

“A mushroom,” I replied.

The look on his face was priceless. It was a mixture of disgust, surprise and awe. To add to the effect, he even slightly cocked his head in disbelief. Laughing, I assured him it wouldn’t kill him (while at the same time, my daughter assured him it would).

After this little exchange we prayed whereupon saying, “Amen,” Daniel muttered under his breath, “And Lord help me to eat this.”

We all cracked up and being the good sport that he is, Daniel did eat it and decided that he does indeed like pizza. We have a picture to prove it.

Daniel's pizza

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

