Skip to content

Intern Update: Greetings from Cairo!

October 21, 2009

Jeanna Bauer, a former IRIS intern, is currently in Cairo, Egypt. She is living with a Sudanese Darfur refugee, Khalda, for two months to help her learn English.

While living in Cairo, Khalda will be Jeanna’s personal tour guide to all the countries tourist spots, as well as a teacher of Arabic, cooking and culture. Jeanna hopes to return to the United States in November with a better understanding of life as a displaced refugee, African/Middle Eastern culture and more travel/language/teaching experience.

I guess this goes to prove that IRIS really does instill a passion for international travel and service… Here is a postcard we recently received from Cairo:

Ibn Tulun Mosque in Cairo, Egypt

Ibn Tulun Mosque in Cairo, Egypt

Postcard from former IRIS intern Jeanna Bauer

Postcard from former IRIS intern Jeanna Bauer

Jeanna writes:

IRIS Crew!!

Wooo I’m here. I don’t really know what I’m doing, but that’s okay! When things get hard, I think of our YES kids! I’m trying to learn Arabic, but I’m having a hard time with the little sounds! But I guess my 10 words is better than the zero I came with! Thanks for all your support as I planned! I see camels daily! and Khalda is a sweetheart! Miss you!!

Jeanna

For more updates on Jeanna’s travels, visit her blog: http://jeanna12.blogspot.com.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

