Skip to content

From a YES student: Kiwanis Leadership Conference

November 9, 2009

Saminu Umar is a 17 year-old YES student from Sokoto State, Nigeria. He attends Linn-Mar High School. Saminu participated in the Kiwanis “Key Leader” Conference from Oct. 16-18 and was sponsored by the Marion Sunrise Kiwanis club. He tells about his experience here:

100_0474

Students who participated in Kiwanis Leadership Conference

A guy named Byron gave me ride to the camp with three other students: a girl from Cedar Rapids, two other Iowan students and one from Uganda, Africa.

I am the only student from my school that attended the conference, and only two students from Cedar Rapids (myself and another girl) attended the leadership conference.

We got there around 5 p.m. and had our dinner at 6:30 p.m. During the process of eating, the coordinator of the conference asked me to please be a student facilitator for the duration of the conference. I accepted, but I was little bit scared because that was the first conference I have ever attended in the United States.

There were 37 students that attended the conference, and there were only five groups and five student facilitators, which I happened to be one of them. I lead my group, which had a total of seven students (including me) for the entire conference. We worked together, and my group happened to be one of the best groups. I named my group “controllers of the future”

In terms of friends, I am pretty much sure that I am the person that has the highest number of friends there. Every one there was happy to have met me.

I learned a lot of things associated to life in general during the conference: how to be a good leader, how to better live together with other people, how to make qualitative decisions and how to take good steps towards achieving my goals.

As you can see from the pictures we had a lot of fun!!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

