Skip to content

From a YES student: Wrestling challenge

December 14, 2009

Daniel Ishaya, a 17 year-old YES student from Gombe State, Nigeria, lives in Grundy Center, Iowa, and attends Grundy Center High School. In this post, he shares about his first experiences with wrestling at his American high school and getting his first pin.

In life we need to face challenges, because without challenge I believe life would be boring.

It was a big challenge for me to go into wrestling, because it’s something different than I was used to. I was first told to go out for wrestling in October, but I was scared because I thought it was something like WWE.

I said I’d rather go out for basketball than wrestling (these are the only winter sports we have in our school), but I was able to be convince myself that if others were doing wrestling, I could also do it.

Wrestling started in November, but still scared to go the practice, I went there for the first time and just watched other kids in practice. At the next practice, I was among them doing what is called wrestling.

The next thing was a match where I had to wrestle somebody from another school. I wrestled the first person, and I didn’t win. But on my second match, I pinned the other kid! Full of excitement, I didn’t wait to shake his hand.

It’s a great experience coming to the United States. To get something you have never had, you must do something you have never done.

There Is No Trying, There Is Only Doing Or Not Doing.

I am happy that I am trying something new — something I might not have the opportunity to do when I got back to Nigeria. (In Nigeria, I can play basketball, but we don’t have wrestling.)

So if you have the opportunity to try something that you might not be able to do again, just do it.

This is a video of my first pin:

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 14, 2009 6:43 AM

    Now you know Daniel, wrestling in Iowa is like basketball in Indiana. Why is it? I don’t know, but you will find out. I’m glad you’re a wrestler in Iowa where the wrestling mom’s rule, and not a Hoosier, just remember to pull that hand off your neck and do something with it.

    David Gillaspie
    deegeesbb.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

