Skip to content

From a YES Student: Blazin’ Challenge

February 19, 2010

Yusuf Adam is a YES student from Kebbi State, Nigeria. Yusuf has been living in Altona and attending school at Southeast Polk High School this year through the U.S. State Department’s Youth Exchange and Study Program.

Here, he shares about how he won the “Blazin’ Challenge” at Buffalo Wild Wings.

On Tuesday the 19th of January 2010 after I came back from school, my friends Tyler and Alex took me to a basketball game at Valley High School.

On our way to Valley, we went to Buffalo Wild Wings, a restaurant in West Des Moines.

When we got there, we saw a lot of people doing something called the “Blazin’ Challenge.”

The “Blazin’ Challenge” is offered at some Buffalo Wild Wings locations to patrons who can finish 12 of the hottest wings offered (wings covered with Blazin’ sauce) in less than 6 minutes.

The rules are: no drinking of any beverages, no eating other foods (such as ranch, bleu cheese or celery) and no touching the face. Customers who complete the challenge are eligible to have their name and picture placed on the Blazin’ Challenge wall and are given a “Blazin’ Challenge” T shirt.

The Buffalo Wild Wings website describes the Blazin’ sauce, the hottest of their 14 signature sauces, “Keep away from eyes, children, pets: The hottest sauce we got.”

No one was succeeding in the contest, so my friends asked me if I could do it. At first, I responded by saying no, then later I said, “Let me try.”

THE CHALLENGE: It's like walking on hot coals. Except you eat 'em.

Many people in the restaurant circled around watching me, and I started eating the wings.

Before I started, I didn’t really think it would be that hot… but when I started and they start timing me, I just said, “Let me hurry up and eat them all so that I can be done with all the hotness.”

And I did! I ate all of them in three minutes instead of six! My mouth was really hot and burning after I finished, so I asked them to bring coca-cola (I didn’t drink water because I need something sweet to protect my mouth against the hot).

Many people took my picture and congratulated me. I was awarded a free meal and a t-shirt, and they took my picture for their advertising.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

