Skip to content

From a YES student: What happens when the snow melts?

March 26, 2010
tags: , ,

TJ Attahir is a 16 year-old YES student from Nigeria. He lives with his host family, Sarah and Mike Jackson, in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. TJ attends Cedar Rapids Washington High School through the U.S. State Department’s Youth Exchange and Study Program.

One of the best experiences I’ve ever had (though I am not fan of it) is the snow. It is so stunning and ample.

When I first came to Iowa last August, it was warm and nice outside. But just a few months later, it became so boring and exasperating due to the fact that I always had to stay inside the house getting no exercise because of winter and the SNOW.

Then, a few months later, the snow began to melt…

One day to my surprise, it had melted completely. Whoo-hoo!!! I became so happy and energetic because I was finally able to go out and exercise and play in the neighborhood. I was also able to help my amicable host family do some outdoor chores.

TJ raking

Raking. It is so fun to do. The sun was so bright and warm.

TJ and host dad

My host dad. He is a very good mentor and jokester.

TJ's house

It was all snowy earlier, but like a miracle, it became bright! This is something I like to call SPRING!!!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

