Skip to content

From a YES alumni student: Turning plans into actions

August 6, 2010

Victor preparing to depart the USA for Nigeria, June 2010

Victor Yusuf studied in Iowa with YES7 in 2009-2010. Since returning home, he has wasted no time putting the plans for his alumni project into action. Here, he shares about his project.
.
I am an alumni of the Youth Exchange and Study (YES) Program with Iowa Resource for International Service (IRIS). When I was in America, I lived in Atlantic, Iowa, with the welcoming family of Dick and Cindy Nichols. While in my country, I am in Bauchi State, Nigeria, with my parents Yusuf and Grace Abdullahi.
.
With IRIS and in the YES Program, becoming an alumni is just the second stage of the program where the participants now have the necessary skills they had acquired from their placed schools or communities. On our return, we are to carry out a project we submitted before we finished our stay. I thought of planting trees in my school.
.
Also, I thought of introducing the use of high school planners in what is equivalent to a student’s freshmen here in my country.
.
On my return, I started with the planting of trees. When I went to my school, I saw more need for trees, but I did not know for certain which trees to plant. With few discussions with my agricultural science teacher, I knew exactly what type of trees to plant.
.
I wanted to buy three types of trees, but I only found two in the market even after a week of looking, searching and asking. I then settled and bought more of the others, because the ideal time for planting the trees was coming to an end.
.
It was going to take more than a whole morning work to plant the trees on my own, so I asked for the help of the student body. The student body offered to help and so did my classmates. With the help I had, it was almost two trees to each person. The principal of the school asured me that the gardener of the school will take care of the trees in my absence.
.
This project was challenging for me because it had it’s own obstacles, but I still have to do other projects like the use of planners at the high school level, which appears to have more stumbling blocks. However,  I must learn to overcome them for it to be as big of a success as my first project.
.
We hope to have more updates on the second part of Victor’s project soon!
5 Comments leave one →
  1. culturesmash permalink
    August 11, 2010 2:32 AM

    I’m so proud of Victor and all the students who are doing their part to continue the YES efforts.

  2. Cindy Nichols permalink
    August 21, 2010 12:09 PM

    Way to go, Victor!

  3. Kelsey permalink
    August 22, 2010 3:27 AM

    This is great news! Keep up the good work!

  4. Rachel Kazungu permalink
    August 25, 2010 2:44 PM

    Good plan victor! do it for removing global warming

  5. September 24, 2010 5:16 AM

    Yes, Victor,that is the product that IRIS is expecting.Keep up the good work you have to go on sharing the good things you reaped from the American people with your community at home.

Leave a Reply

