Skip to content

Winning essays send KL-YES students to D.C.

February 2, 2012

Congratulations to the 5 of our current KL-YES students from Tanzania and Nigeria for being selected to attend the 2012 Civic Education Workshop in Washington, DC!

Zukra Mshery, Frederick Oleikayo, Walkyes Parkwat, Elizabeth Time and Selumun Ugese will spend 1 week learning about the U.S. federal system of government and other important concepts through seminar discussions, briefings and meetings on Capitol Hill.

The KL-YES students from Tanzania and Nigeria are 5 of 200 international exchange students from all over the world who will gain a better understanding of some of the key concepts and values that are an integral part of U.S. society and culture.

The detailed application process includes writing an essay describing what problems exist in the students’ home country and what changes they would like to see/implement. A group of trained volunteers for the Civic Education Program evaluate how well (s)he addressed the topic, the originality and relevance of his or her ideas and how well those ideas are developed.

  • Here are segments from the winning essays:

Zukra Mshery– “I believe that my involvement in the Civil Education Workshop will allow me to gain the knowledge and ability to change these kind of issues (Government funding, freedom of speech/press, land/farming usage, medical availability) in my country and make it as great as it deserves to be.”

Frederick Oleikayo– “The Maasai tribe, where I come from, doesn’t know about the spread of AIDS, it’s effects, transmission or signs and symptom. Hearing of other’s social, political and economic problems may help us as a group become better at solving our own country’s problems. I will then apply the knowledge gained at the workshop to help the Maasai tribe learn the importance of education.”

Walkyes Parkwat– “When I return to Nigeria I aim to achieve my goals by becoming a more tolerant person, engaging in community service, and avoiding all acts of favoritism and tribalism. I also aim to set up a club with the help of my high school in Nigeria. The club’s main objectives will include volunteering hours of community service, building bridges of tolerance, reaching out to students who suffer from discrimination, and encouraging students to be hard working by avoiding all acts of corruption such as exam malpractice.”

Elizabeth Time– “I believe that if you want change in the world, be that change yourself. I hope to be bold enough to speak about the problem of corruption to people in churches, mosques, and at other social gatherings and make a change in my country through my actions. Then I can really say I am making a difference!”

Selumun Ugese– “With this great training, we will stand for the truth. I’m looking for practical ways to be a man of integrity in the social, political and economical areas of life in Nigeria. We will become strong enough to fight against the corruption in Nigeria. Everybody deserves the right to live and live happily. I pray that somehow through this program my friends and I will be able to make a difference.”

  • The Civic Education Workshop will take place Feb. 26 through March 3. Updates on the workshop and progress of the students are coming soon!
One Comment leave one →
  1. March 25, 2012 4:09 PM

    Congratz, good bless you…

Leave a Reply

